• WordNet 3.6
    • n Decapoda squids and cuttlefishes
    • n Decapoda lobsters; crayfish; crabs; shrimps; prawns
    • ***
Webster's Revised Unabridged Dictionary
    • Decapoda (Zoöl) A division of the dibranchiate cephalopods including the cuttlefishes and squids. See Decacera.
    • Decapoda (Zoöl) The order of Crustacea which includes the shrimps, lobsters, crabs, etc.
    • ***
Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia
    • Decapoda The ten-footed crustaceans; those Crustacea which have five pairs of legs or ambulatory appendages, at least one pair of which is chelate; an order of podophthalmic or stalk-eyed Crustacea. See cuts under Podophthalmia and stalk-eyed. They have the branchiæ inclosed in special lateral thoracic receptacles; a large dorsal carapace or cephalothoracic shield, formed by fusion of the cephalic and thoracic somites, and usually prolonged in front as a beak or rostrum; gnathites or mouth-parts consisting of a pair of mandibles, two pairs of maxillæ, and three pairs of maxillipeds or foot-jaws; and five pairs of ambulatory legs, the first pair of which is usually enlarged, and otherwise modified into great pincer-like claws or chelipeds. The shell is regularly shed, annually or oftener, as long as the animal continues to grow. The order presents two extremes of form, according to the development and construction of the abdominal segments or “tail.” In the long-tailed or macrurous Decapoda, as the lobster, shrimp, prawn, and crawfish, the abdomen is protruded, jointed, and flexible. In the short-tailed or brachyurous Decapoda, as the crabs, it is reduced and folded under the thorax, forming the apron. Various intermediate conditions are also found, as in the hermit-crabs. In consequence, the Decapoda are divided into Macrura and Brachyura, with or without an intermediate group Anomura. See these words.
    • Decapoda The ten-armed cephalopods; a division of the dibranchiate or acetabuliferous Cephalopoda, as distinguished from Octopoda, having two long tentacles or cephalic processes (besides the eight arms or rays), bearing suckers only at their ends: also called Decacera. The division includes all except the Octopodidæ and Argonautidæ, or the cuttles, calamaries, squids, etc., of such families as Spirulidæ, Belemnitidæ, Sepiidæ, Sepiolidæ, Loliginidæ, Chiroteuthidæ, Loligopsidæ, and Cranchiidæ. See second cut under cuttle.
    • ***


Webster's Revised Unabridged Dictionary
NL., fr. Gr. de`ka ten + poy`s podo`s, foot


In literature:

In the Decapoda there are also reflecting elements which produce iridescent hues.
"Encyclopaedia Britannica, 11th Edition, Volume 5, Slice 6" by Various
In the Decapoda three pairs are thus modified, and in the Tanaidacea, Isopoda and Amphipoda only one.
"Encyclopaedia Britannica, 11th Edition, Volume 7, Slice 7" by Various
Technically these form the sub-order Decapoda, of the order Dibranchia.
"Encyclopaedia Britannica, 11th Edition, Volume 7, Slice 8" by Various
The typical characters of the Decapoda are well illustrated by the Lobster, which has been already described.
"The Life of Crustacea" by William Thomas Calman